Read an #excerpt of In the Line Of Duty from @Carolyn_Arnold #detective

cover

IN THE LINE OF DUTY (DETECTIVE MADISON KNIGHT SERIES)

by Carolyn Arnold

Published by: Hibbert & Stiles Publishing Inc.

Release date: September 29, 2016

Approximately 292 pages

Synopsis

He devoted his life to seeking justice. But would she get any for him?

It was an ordinary day for police officer Barry Weir. It was the end of shift, he was tired, and he just wanted to get home to his wife and kids. But someone had other plans for him, shooting him down and forcing him to make the ultimate sacrifice.

When news of Weir’s murder reaches the department, it leaves Detective Madison Knight and every cop in the Stiles PD itching for revenge. It cuts Madison’s boyfriend, colleague, and Weir’s childhood friend, Troy Matthews, deepest of all, driving him away from everyone he loves just when they need one another the most.

With evidence pointing to a gang-related drive-by, Madison and her team investigate the town’s seedy underbelly in search of justice for their fallen brother. But the deeper they dig, the more convoluted the case becomes. Now they need to figure out if this was a random shooting as part of a gang initiation, a straight-up hate crime, or a targeted kill. But with members of the Stiles PD under attack, they have to do it fast…before more officers pay with their lives.

Grab a copy! 

Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble ~ Apple iBooks ~ Kobo ~ Google Play ~

http://carolynarnold.net/in-the-line-of-duty/

 Series Information

wide-banner

Murder. Investigation. The pursuit of justice. Do you love trying to figure out whodunit? How about investigating alongside police detectives from the crime scene to the forensics lab and everywhere in between? Do you love a strong female lead? Then I invite you to meet Detective Madison Knight as she solves murders with her male partner, utilizing good old-fashioned investigative work aided by modern technology.

This is the perfect book series for fans of Law & OrderCSIBlue BloodsRizzoli & IslesWomen’s Murder Club, and Hawaii Five-O.

Read in any order or follow the series from the beginning: Ties That Bind, Justified, Sacrifice, Found Innocent, Just Cause, Deadly Impulse, In the Line of Duty, Life Sentence (Bonus Prequel).

 Excerpt

In the hallway, Troy leaned against a wall and waited as the ringtone drilled into his ear.

Answer the damn phone…

 “You’ve reached the voice mail for Chief Fletcher…”

He hung up and redialed. She should be back from her vacation by now. What time had she said her flight was getting in?

Someone picked up on the other end of the line. “Chief Fletcher here.” She sounded groggy, as if he’d woken her up.

“Where are you?” he rushed out.

“Hotel near the airport. We just got in. What’s going on?”

“Something has happened.” The words came out soft-spoken and dry.

“That doesn’t sound good.” He could imagine his sister sitting up in bed and turning on the light on her night table.

“It’s Barry…” His throat constricted. This would be his first time verbalizing what had happened.

His sister’s voice was gentle and caring. “What about Barry?”

“He’s dead.” He delivered the news directly, unable to water it down no matter how much it hurt.

“What? How?” she asked, her tone switching quickly to one of shock.

“He was shot this morning while on duty.” He got through telling her the basics, the facts draining so much from him.

“Wake up, Robert,” his sister said distantly. He heard his brother-in-law moan in the background.

“We’re leaving now. I’ll be in as soon as possible. Has there been a briefing yet?”

“In ten minutes.”

“Has the shooter been caught?”

At his sister’s question, his insides pulsed with adrenaline and determination. No matter what it took from him, he would find Barry’s killer.

“Troy? Has the shooter been caught?” she repeated, a subtle beep in the background of the line.

“Not yet.”

Another beep. “Someone’s calling. I better let you go.” Her voice was withdrawn, and Troy imagined her pulling her phone out to consult the caller ID. “It’s Winston. See you soon.” His sister hung up before he could say anything else. He put his phone away, the ache in his chest now almost unbearable.

Author Bio

author-pic

CAROLYN ARNOLD is an international best-selling and award-winning author, as well as a speaker, teacher, and inspirational mentor. She has four continuing fiction series—Detective Madison Knight, Brandon Fisher FBI, McKinley Mysteries, and Matthew Connor Adventures—and has written nearly thirty books. Her genre diversity offers her readers everything from cozy to hard-boiled mysteries, and thrillers to action adventures.

 Both her female detective and FBI profiler series have been praised by those in law enforcement as being accurate and entertaining, leading her to adopt the trademark: POLICE PROCEDURALS RESPECTED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT™.

 Carolyn was born in a small town and enjoys spending time outdoors, but she also loves the lights of a big city. Grounded by her roots and lifted by her dreams, her overactive imagination insists that she tell her stories. Her intention is to touch the hearts of millions with her books, to entertain, inspire, and empower.

 She currently lives just west of Toronto with her husband and beagle and is a member of Crime Writers of Canada and Sisters in Crime.

 Connect with CAROLYN ARNOLD Online:

Website ~ Twitter ~ Facebook

And don’t forget to sign up for her newsletter for up-to-date information on release and special offers at http://carolynarnold.net/newsletters.

 

 

 

Advertisements