Year in Review #2016Recap #amwriting #expatlife

 

 

Tomorrow is New Year’s Eve, which means it is now time for the obligatory Year in Review blog. It’s hard to keep it light considering what a complete b*tch 2016 was (and my fervent advocacy for keeping my writing platform politic-free), but I’ll do my best.

I will remember 2016 as:

The year I published four (!!!) books:

The year I moved back to The Netherlands and realized eyeballing measurements is not the best idea in the world (thus having a piano in my doorway for a month).

piano

The year I added two countries (Argentina and Uruguay) to my places visited bringing my total of the world visited up to 27%.

countries-visited

The year I screwed up my visa situation in Turkey and ended up spending three weeks floating around the US, the Netherlands, and Germany.

do_not_enter_svg

The year I woke to small arms fire and jets flying overhead and realized I hadn’t traveled back in time to when I was in the military but this was a military coup attempt. Now I can scratch ‘military coup’ off my bucket list.

world-gone-mad

The year I realized my desire to live in a historically significant time period was completely bonkers as the world has gone mad and it feels like there’s nothing to be done about it. So much for that hero complex.

 

 

 

And – to end on a good note – the year I won my first prize as a writer!

best-mystery-suspense-2016

3 thoughts on “Year in Review #2016Recap #amwriting #expatlife

Comments are closed.