I’m funny not worthless #Amwriting

Although I have categorized my two murder mystery series, The Gray-Haired Knitting Detectives and Death by Cupcake, as cozy mysteries, I often tell potential readers that my books are mysteries with a dash of romance and a heaping portion of humor. And that’s the moment I lose a lot of them. I can see it in their eyes, which sometimes even roll as they hear the word ‘humor’ as if adding humor to a novel makes me less of an author or my books less worthy. I’ve published ten books and yet people will turn away from me at a cocktail party to listen to an unpublished author talk about her work because it’s more ‘significant’. Yes, seriously.

hollywoodNot all books are ‘significant’. In fact, the vast majority of books published are meant as entertainment for the masses. Nobel prize winning novels, on the other hand, are rarely best sellers. Does it matter if your book or my book is not literature? If it is meant to ‘merely’ entertain? The U.S. media and entertainment industry, made up of film and music, video game, and publishing sectors, is expected to reach $771 billion by 2019. That’s nothing to sneeze at.

Even if it was something to sneeze at – so what? Entertainment is important for our mental well-being. You may even argue it’s important for our physical well-being as well since it often calms us down. In case you missed it, the world is in a bit of a bind at the moment. Political strife within ‘peaceful’ countries is at an all-time high. Terrorism seems to be happening in new and more terrifying ways on a daily basis. Do we not need more humor in this world gone mad? At a time where a trip to a Christmas market or a night club can end in a blood bath?

And as I sat mulling over this post (because I wrote those first two paragraphs right after that party but didn’t know where to go from there), I realized something else. We are way too busy with judging people. Everyone – every single person – contributes to society in some way whether it’s by cleaning toilets, protecting prisoners, or balancing the books of a company. I refuse to believe that some people are more important than others based solely on their job description because even if you’re saving lives someone needs to clean up the blood and gore when it’s all over. I’m done with that. Who’s with me?

judging

 

9 thoughts on “I’m funny not worthless #Amwriting

  1. christineocheallaigh says:

    I’m with you! I think people try to sound important when they talk about books (or art, or whatever) being “significant”…what exactly is that supposed to mean, anyway? Is it supposed to suddenly change the world because it was published (or painted, or whatever)? Is the world supposed to join hands and start singing “Michael Row the Boat Ashore” or some such nonsense, suddenly joined together in peace and harmony? Yeah, right. Trust me, anything able to do that *would* be pretty significant, but guess what? It’s not going to be a novel or painting or musical composition that does that. It’s going to be people finally getting their heads out of their butts and realizing that we need to work together instead of fighting each other all the time. You want to put an end to wars? Great. STOP FIGHTING EACH OTHER! There’s a novel solution! You want to end world hunger? Great! Then START FEEDING EVERYBODY, REGARDLESS OF WHERE THEY COME FROM! You want to end poverty? Super! Then start HELPING PEOPLE get better education, get and keep decent paying jobs, find and keep housing (which they can’t do if they’re not even able to make a living wage), feed and clothe themselves and their families, and stop complaining when other people are doing just that, just because it’s not convenient for you to do so! I swear, people act like a bunch of privileged, stuck-up jerks 99% of the time, which is why I keep saying I’d rather spend time with my cats and my guinea pig than with humans! Seriously! And people call me anti-social! Nope, I’m just tired of the b.s. humans keep spewing out all the time. If I could afford to live on a tropical island by myself, just me and my furbabies and my friends I count as family (so okay, not by myself, but away from society in general), I would so do it! People suck!

    Like

  2. N. N. Light says:

    I’m with you, too! My books are meant to tell a story and hopefully inspire people to share kindness with others. Often those “significant” books are a bore to me. I get comments from literary authors all the time, saying I write fluff. I shrug and say, “Yeah but readers feel better not worse after reading mine.” lol! Uh oh, your humor is rubbing off on me. *gasp* 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Felicia Denise says:

    Humor is a part of life – and I prefer it in ALL the genres I read…simply because of that.

    It is more difficult to write humor than drama and when an author pulls off both in the same story, that’s a story folks should be rushing too, not judging.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. John Fioravanti says:

    This is well-said, Dena! A couple of truths here: not all readers will like or appreciate any particular author’s style or genre; also, each of us, as authors, is unique and therefore special. Kudos to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Soooz says:

    Bravo! Well said, Dena! Even my non-fiction works have moments of humor, when laughing at myself was the only way to go on. My fictional works are peppered with humor albeit of the darkest variety. I believe all of our fictional works should primarily entertain the reader, after all this is where they come to escape. Thank you for sharing your insights. 100% spot on.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.